TIA's Standards division convenes communities of interest around nine engineering committees and is the administrator for a number of U.S. Technical Advisory Groups. These communities conduct the writing and maintenance of voluntary, industry-driven, consensus-based standards and specifications for the ICT industry.

More than 1,000 individuals - representing network equipment manufacturers, service providers, government entities, and end users - currently serve on TIA's Engineering Committees. Government agencies are allowed to participate at no cost as "non-voting" observers to TIA's standards engineering committees. TIA also maintains reciprocal agreements with other Standards Developing Organizations (SDOs) and academic institutions, and permits representatives from these entities to participate at no cost as "non-voting" members.


female police officer

TR-8 Mobile and Personal Private Radio Standards

The TR-8 Engineering Committee creates and maintains standards for private radio communications systems and equipment for voice and data applications.

Telecommunication mast

TR-14 Structural Standards for Communication and Small Wind Turbine Support Structures

Engineering Committee TR-14 is responsible for the ANSI/TIA-222 Standard, “Structural Standard for Antenna Supporting Structures, Antennas and Small Wind Turbine Support Structures” and the ANSI/TIA-322 Standard, “Loading, Analysis and Design Criteria Related to the Installation, Alteration and Maintenance of Communication Structures.”

satellite dish

TR-34 Satellite Equipment & Systems

The TR-34 Engineering Committee is responsible for standards and studies related to satellite communications systems, including both the space and earth segments.

Smiling Deaf woman using smartphone

TR-41 Performance and Accessibility for Communications Products

The TR 41 Engineering Committee develops and maintains performance requirements for voice, video and other features associated with communications services.


TR-42 Telecommunications Cabling Systems

The TR-42 Engineering Committee develops and maintains voluntary telecommunications standards for telecommunications cabling infrastructure in user-owned buildings, such as commercial buildings, residential buildings, homes, data centers and industrial buildings.

Wi-Fi router

TR-45 Mobile and Point-to-Point Communications Standards

The TR-45 Engineering Committee develops performance, compatibility, interoperability and service standards for mobile and personal communications systems.

self-driving car

TR-48 Vehicular Telematics

The TR-48 Engineering Committee is responsible for the development and maintenance of voluntary standards relating to vehicular telematics equipment and services.

Industrial robotic arms

TR-50 M2M – Smart Device Communications

The TR-50 Engineering Committee is responsible for the development and maintenance of access agnostic interface standards for the monitoring and bi-directional communication of events and information between machine-to-machine (M2M) systems and smart devices, applications or networks.


TR-51 Smart Utility Networks

The TR-51 Engineering Committee is developing air-interface, network and conformance standards in support of Smart Utility Networks.

TR-60 ICT Lifecycle Management

The TR-60 ICT Lifecycle Management Committee is responsible for the development and maintenance of voluntary standards for the planning, documentation, design, remediation and operation of information and communications technology (ICT) systems, infrastructure and services.