TIA Congratulates 2022 Star and QuEST Forum Award Winners

Across the Board, Engagement by Companies and Individuals Reaches New Highs

Arlington, VA (January 25, 2023) – The Telecommunications Industry Association—the trusted industry association for the connected world—has announced the winners of the organization’s two annual awards programs: the TIA Star Awards and the TIA QuEST Forum Awards. TIA gives awards to the most engaged members who contribute to the advancement of the global ICT industry through TIA initiatives.

The TIA Star Awards are designed to recognize TIA’s most active companies and individuals for their contributions towards technical standards development, technology enablement programs and government advocacy.

The 2022 TIA Star Award winners are:

  • TIA Star Award Individual Winner: John Lambrou, Distinguished Member of the Technical Staff at Motorola Solutions
  • TIA Star Award Company Winner: Corning
  • TIA Star Rookie of the Year Winner: Derek Huffman, Sr. Product Development Engineer, Corning

Additionally, TIA recognizes the top contributing 2% and 5% of individuals and companies. To learn more about the Star Awards and view the winners, CLICK HERE.

“TIA congratulates John Lambrou, our individual winner of the 2022 TIA Star Award; Corning, the winner of the company Star Award for 2022; and Derek Huffman, our 2022 TIA Star Rookie of the Year Award winner,” said Tom McGarry, Vice President of Standards at TIA. “We had tremendous engagement across our communities in 2022 and there were an expanding number of high-performing individuals and companies who dedicated significant efforts to our industry initiatives. We are grateful for all their contributions and appreciate their effort and support.”


The 2022 TIA QuEST Forum Awards recognize individuals and organizations that are most engaged in our business performance communities, corporate sustainability efforts and include the Volunteer of the Year, QuEST Forum Participant Company of the Year and the 2022 Sustainability Awards. The Annual TIA QuEST Forum Sustainability Awards recognize companies for their outstanding performance and innovation in sustainability practices which are calculated using the results of TIA’s Sustainability Assessor tool.

“We are honored to recognize our 2022 TIA QuEST Forum Sustainability Award winners, our individual QuEST Forum Volunteer of the Year Award winner, Beth Ford from AT&T; and our Company Participant of the Year Award winner, Infinera,” said Mike Regan, VP of Business Performance at TIA. “We had many individuals and companies who went above and beyond to continuously improve our industry and today we are proud to recognize their contributions to the global ICT community.”

The TIA QuEST Forum Annual Award Winners:

  • Volunteer of the Year: Beth Ford, Senior Sourcing Manager, AT&T
  • Company Participant of the Year: Infinera

TIA QuEST Forum Sustainability Awards Winners for 2022 are:

  • Network Equipment Sustainability: Ciena
  • Corporate Sustainability: Power & Tel
  • Field Services Sustainability: QuadGen Wireless
  • Consumer Electronics Sustainability: Samsung
  • Non-Electronic Hardware Sustainability: CRH Plc

To see all TIA QuEST Forum Award winners from 2022 and previous years, Click Here.

To learn how to get involved with TIA and become eligible for an award, visit https://tiaonline.org/membership/


Dan Brown, dbrown@tiaonline.org

About TIA

The Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA) represents more than 400 global companies that enable high-speed communications networks and accelerate next-generation ICT innovation. Through leadership in U.S. and international advocacy, technology programs, standards development, and business performance solutions, TIA and its members are accelerating global connectivity across every industry and market. TIA is accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI).